A Delightful Hike Through the Woods

 

IMG_20150819_175110

This past Summer I discovered one of the best hiking spots. It is called Bartholomew’s Cobble and it is in a nice little town called Sheffield in Massachusetts.

A customer at work told me about this little gem and I am glad they did. I will have to go back in the Spring time.

Bartholomew’s Cobble gets its name from the Cobble of rocks (limestone and marble) that bulge out to form a couple of small hills surrounded by farmland and a winding river (the Housatonic River).

PicsArt_01-11-09.44.32

It isn’t a very large place but it is a great place to spend a afternoon.

After parking our car I was met by a fantastic view.

20150819_135948_Pano

If that isn’t a inviting and beautiful view I don’t know what is. This is the view from across the parking lot. Basically the trails all lead in a circle. The path my friend and I went on lead us straight back to the parking lot.

We went into the visitor center to pay for our tickets and were met by this sign.

20150819_115206

Yes, a birdhouse. This is where you put your money when the park rangers are not in the office.

The park rangers were fantastic. Very friendly and knowledgeable.

The trails were very well maintained and properly marked. Each trail marker had a map attached to it which was very easy to read. It was nice knowing where we were at all times. Made the hike a little less stressful. I don’t know about you but I have been to places where the trail markers are old and worn out and have gotten lost because of it. Good to know this is not one of those places.

While at Bartholomew’s Cobble I hiked through fields with plenty of beautiful flowers and butterflies (not ashamed to say I chased a couple to get their photo), through thick forest (with great looking trees), climbed over some rocks and walked along the Housatonic River.

I really enjoyed this place. It had this very calming effect over me. The terrain is not as hard as other places I have visited. Any age group can enjoy this place. It is a pretty relaxing walk. The parts that are a little hard have some pretty interesting bridges.

I especially liked the wildflowers. There were so many, especially in the fields.

Unfortunately, I didn’t see much wildlife. I saw some birds and squirrels but not much more than that. I was a little disappointed because there is a lot of animals that roam the area. Owls, hawks, bobcats, turkeys, deer, and the occasional black bear all call Bartholomew’s Cobble home. Hopefully the next time I go there I will see some of those critters.

****A word to the wise- bring strong bug spray with you if you decide to visit this beautiful place during the hot Summer months. Why? Deer flies. They reside there and are evil, nasty little things. I didn’t notice them until the end of my hike and holy crap did they eat me alive! I joked with my hiking companion that if we ever come back during the Summer I would be wearing a hat with a bug zapper attached to it! Just a warning to you!******

I hope that if you are in the area that you will take a hike in this little gem. You will not be disappointed!

For more info visit:

thetrustees.org

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “A Delightful Hike Through the Woods

    • It really is a nice hidden gem. I can’t wait to go back in the Spring time. There is actually a couple of really small waterfalls too, but when we were there it was so hot they had dryed up. I want to see them when it gets warmer out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

