Lets start from the beginning..

 

As I sit here at my kitchen table listening to it softly rain on and off outside, a thought occurred to me. I cannot even start to tell you about my travels around New England until I explain where my story began.

I was born and raised in Tampa, FL. I was an only child. I adored the sunshine and running around outside for hours on end until I was called in by my Mom or Dad. I had a very active imagination (which still exists today). I would watch television, movies or read books (I love to read) and imagine I was right there with the characters on their various adventures. I told myself that one day some how I would go on my own adventures and see as many beautiful and exciting places as I possibly could.

When I was around 7 years old my family and I moved up to western MA. A member of my Dad’s family fell very ill and he wanted to spend as much time with her as he could. She passed away a few months later. By that time my Dad had found a very nice job and we decided to stay up in MA.

Boy, what a change it was for me to get over! First was the weather. Now in Florida it doesn’t get what you Northerners call “cold”. The closest thing to what would be described as cold that I had experienced was about 40 degrees. That is still tee shirt weather to the people in New England! We did not also have this thing called snow. I had seen snow in Christmas movies but that was about it. Second was the clothes. My usual wardrobe consisted of open toed sandals, shorts (or skirt) and a tee shirt. Maybe a light jacket when I needed it. Now I had to go out and buy a winter jacket, mittens, scarves, a hat, sweaters etc to stay warm in. I hated wearing all those layers! I wanted to just run outside and play without having to put on about 10 lbs of clothing.

Now it wasn’t all bad things that I had to get used to. There were also really great things to New England that Florida did not have to offer. For instance, Fall, especially the gorgeous sight of the foliage changing color. I have seen pictures of this in magazines and books but never in person.

IMG_1425

What a sight to behold. If you ever hear someone tell you that they don’t like looking at the fantastic reds, yellows, golds, oranges, etc that Mother Nature gives us in Autumn then I will tell you that person is insane. This is my favorite thing about Fall.

The moment I got my first point and shoot camera as a birthday gift I knew what the first thing I wanted to take pictures of. And I took countless photos. That first camera,a grey Nikon Coolpix, was the first in a long line of cameras that came with me on countless hikes in the forests, parks and basically anywhere my legs would take me.

I hope that you will come along with me as I continue on these countless hikes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Lets start from the beginning..

  1. You are absolutely right! Both places have so much to offer. Someday I would love to visit Florida and experience something different from New England, though I don’t think I could ever totally give up the New England seasons even if winter does tend to last an eternity next to the beautiful fall and spring! Love your blog and can’t wait to see all you have coming in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! Yes, Florida (and the South in general) is an acquired taste. I had to get used to having other seasons when I moved up North. It took a little adjusting but now I like it. I do wish I could skip Winter though. Fall is great but Winter brings snow and freezing weather. None of these things are my cup of tea. I am a Spring and Summer girl. I like color and warmth.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

